Vs. INAUGURAL IMPACT TROPHY: EMERGE SEASON 2 1.14.19

 

For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh and the lust of the eyes and the boastful pride of life, is not from the Father, but is from the world.

John 2:16

 

 

 

HE WHO IS WITHOUT SIN

CHAPTER ONE: LUST

 

I laid in the bed, starin’ up at the ceiling while the young woman I picked up at the Strip Club continued to pleasure me. It wasn’t right, I knew that, bearin’ the sins of the many who captured me with her blue eyes, her southern accent, cute demeanor, beautiful and captivating body. Everything about her screamed lust from her hair, makeup and pink nails, she drew me in like a whore would. Her name was Dakota, of course I’m sure it was for staging purposes. I didn’t know if I would ever come out of the Shadows, I lived my life very privately the last 8 years, it was when I left her….

The woman of my dreams, the love of my life all to pay a life debt to a man that pulled me from the fires of Hell.

I dedicated my soul, my body. It was an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth, never thinkin’ about consequence and how much it would hurt her. Shell fell into a dark abyss that many of us never come out from, I couldn’t do anything, cause’ I had a new family. He gave me an identity, Wendell McGraw was dead, I had no choice in the matter.….

I was reborn as Sundown.

 

Unknown Motel

New York City, NY.

One Week Ago

 

I held her hair, she screamed a few times out of pleasure, orgasmic. I hadn’t been with a woman in a long time, it was the first night I took off my face and showed my real one. She kept going and going until finally I close my eyes and sigh…..

 

sundowncastpic-dakotaDakota: “Ya didn’t like it baby?”

Wendell: “No, I did, it was good. You ain’t from around here, where are you from?”

Dakota: “I moved here from Tennessee ta make it inta modelin’. I hadn’t seen ya around these parts.”

Wendell: “I’m visitin’ an old friend. Wanted to say “I’m sorry for everythin’ I put them through. I didn’t have the guts to face em’ right away, by the time I went, it was too late to talk so I stopped at the club and came here with you.”

Dakota: “Well, I’m glad ya did.”

sundowncastpic-wendell1

 

Wendell: “You didn’t come here out of attraction, you came here outta money.”

Dakota: Awww… come on, sugar…..”

Wendell: “Don’t call me that.”

 

I could see I startled her, she pushed back a little and off me, I can’t be called that word. She nodded and started to get up. Went to the bathroom. I laid there, staring at the ceiling, wondering why I did this. Fear? Neglect? Curiosity? John Goddard was right about humanity, society as a whole has become a cesspool and the only way to fix it is through salvation. I didn’t wanna do this, I wasn’t ready to be unleashed on the world. Minerva was in GCW, Eli and Sawyer Goddard were with me on this journey. John decided to step into his role in the SCW with Viveca….

It was about to begin. I didn’t know if I was ready.

 

A Few Days Prior

Somewhere in Texas

 

Staring into the calm waters of the lagoon, seeing my reflection, what I had become, what I left behind, what I am now and forever until I die and stand by the side of the Lord, it was my callin’. I knew the war would begin someday, it wasn’t a rapture or a cleansin’, it was atonement for those that seek it and those that don’t. He stood behind me, the man who saved my life, placing his hand on my shoulder. I held my face in the palm of my hand.…

 

sundowncastpic-johngoddardJohn: “It’s time son.”

Sundown: “I knew it was comin’. Minnie was the first.”

John: “All about numbers.”

Sundown: “Then why am I not with you in the SCW?”

John: “We all have a callin’, preparin’ fer this day a long time. Ya knew damn well this was gonna happen. It’s been our destiny now fer quite some time. We both lost so much along the way. It was our sacrifice fer the better good, our mission….”

Sundown: “Is that the cost? A faceless existence? Roamin’ in the shadows for years and years watchin’ the woman I love suffer. Watchin’ her give her life to other men that take advantage, I cannot stand idly by and see her self-destruct anymore.”

John: “This is our path.”

 

He saw my fist clench, knew that I had enough. The story is one of a choice. It’s simple to live your life without Sin, pretend it doesn’t exist, things can go your Way and the minute God decides to cut you down….

Everything changes.

Sixteen Years Ago

Abilene, Texas

 

I was young, had dreams like everyone else. A star rodeo cowboy in Texas could pretty much write your ticket anywhere. They called me Titan, I could wrestle a bull down in less than ten seconds. At sixteen I was already seven feet tall. Like any kid in high school, I thought that I knew it all. One night out in the boonies, this kid, Charlie Montgomery, threw a bonfire party out in his daddy’s land. We all went, there musta been two hundred people. Jamie was my girl at the time, I didn’t meet the love of my life until college and the rodeo circuit. We had been drinkin’ all night. I took my truck, a few of my friends rode in the back…..

That night I was guilty of Sloth.

I drank too damn much, I got a lil’ violent with Jamie, I can remember her face, her smell, so sweet like lavender….

 

sundowncastpic-jaimeJamie: “Baby, yer drunk.”

Wendell: “Will you lay off me girl. I’m fine. Just give me my goddamn keys and I will take you home.”

Jamie: “Ya know I can’t do that darlin’. Why are ya being such a hard ass? Come on now, let’s go. Let me drive.”

Wendell: “Jamie…. Ain’t nobody drivin’ my truck, okay? So, get that outta your head. Now give me the fuckin’ keys!”

Jamie: “I ain’t lettin’ ya drive, I will, I only had two beers, you’ve had NINE, alright, NINE! Now come on’, I’ll take ya home and then I can walk, only a few blocks from me.”

Wendell: “Nobody drives my truck!”

 

Embarrassing, that I would let myself get to that point. All she was tryin’ to do is help me, but I was pig headed, a dumb fuckin’ kid. A couple of my friends tried to take her side, convince me, I didn’t wanna hear it. They weren’t dumb, I’d break them all in half, so they physically stayed out of it. I grabbed Jamie’s hand and pry the keys from them….

 

Jamie: “Ya hurtin’ me, stop!”

Wendell: “Gimme the fuckin’ keys!”

Jamie: “Asshole!”

 

Stumbling away, nobody was gonna stop me, even drunk I could kick all their asses. I got in my truck and drove off, I could hear Jamie screamin’ for me to stop….

And I should have.

Driving down the dirt roads, can’t see a damn thing, I kept driving in my truck, faster and faster until I finally lost control and ran off the main road into a tree. I could feel the wreckage on my legs, chest and arms crushing me, I couldn’t move when the engine started to catch fire. Barely able to make a sound, I whimpered until using the rest of my energy while the warm blood started pouring from my head onto the shirt and jeans, I wore….

 

Wendell: “H…. help….. Help…… HELP ME!”

 

No one was comin’, this was the end, my life was over in a full inferno when suddenly he appeared, a man lookin’ into the truck, I could hear his voice..….

 

Man: “Ya okay, boy?”

sundowncastpic-wendellyoungWendell: “He….hel….help me…. I’m gonna burn alive….”

Man: “By the way things look, ya gonna die son unless ya let me help ya.”

Wendell: “Please….. “

Man: “Ah, but ya see boy, every act of salvation has a price. I will save ya, because this didn’t happen randomly. He sent ya ta me.”

Wendell: “Who?”

Man: “A higher power. Let me help ya son, take my hand and I will make sure ya live a long prosperous life but at some point, I’m gonna come callin’ and wen I do, ya serve me. Do we have a deal?”

Wendell: “Help….. Help me…..”

Man: “Do we have a deal?”

Wendell: “Y…. yes.”

Man: “What’s yer name, boy?”

Wendell: “Wendell.”

Man: “Alright Wendell, back up now…..”

 

It was my only choice, that or die. He opened the door and dragged me out before the truck exploded. That was when I finally looked up at him and he told me his name….

 

Man: “John, John Goddard.”

 

That was the last thing I remember……

His name…..

I’ll never forget his name.

 

 

And if your hand causes you to sin, cut it off. It is better for you to enter life crippled than with two hands to go to hell, to the unquenchable fire. And if your foot causes you to sin, cut it off. It is better for you to enter life lame than with two feet to be thrown into hell.

Mark 9:43-45

 

 

 

One Week Ago

Somewhere in Texas

 

His eyes, I could feel them staring right at me, I knew what he wanted to say. It was time that I was unleashed into the world and there was nothing that could stop me….

 

John: “Ya can’t see her.”

Sundown: “Damn it, John, she’s sufferin’.”

John: “Then that’s her path. Yer no longer a part of that and haven’t been fer years. We all know what the callin’ is now, don’t we?”

 

I didn’t want to answer him right away, but I had no choice. Looking at the reflection of the water, all I saw was the face, the one that casts fear amongst the sinners, truly hiding what and who I once was…..

 

Sundown: “Yes, we do.”

John: “Good, then yer journey starts, mine and the boys, start. This is no longer about anythin’ other than atonement. Do ya hear me? Atonement.”

Sundown: “I hear you.”

John: “Look at me son.”

 

I slowly turned toward him….

 

John: “You are vengeance, remember that.”

Sundown: “Yes, John…… Vengeance.”

 

He walked away, leaving me alone to stare once again at my own reflection and even I didn’t know what I was looking at anymore.

 

A Few Days Later

 

Standing outside in the alleyway, I hated New York city but a man like me could blend in so easily. I could see the boxes all packed up, she was movin’ away to California. There was nothin’ here for her left. I followed her home, she was at the bar, must’ve been there early, it’s around dinner time and she barely made it home. I wanted to talk to her, smell her hair, touch her hands and feet, kiss her lips….

It had been so long.

Lookin’ in the window, she took off her pants, boots and jacket, just wearing her top and underwear, slowly making her way into the bedroom with a bottle in hand. He told me not interfere, this was no longer my life. I stood outside in the freezing cold for over an hour until I didn’t see anymore movement.

I should leave….

Yet I couldn’t.

I walked up the steps, slowly turning the knob, damn it, Taters, she left it unlocked. Walking in I could hear the TV, the light in the bedroom at the end of the long hallway. I walked in, she was on her bed face up, a picture frame in her hand, not even under the covers. I wanted to touch her but I made a promise I would not….

And yet I took off my glove and grabbed her cold foot. She was out to the world, the damn alcohol. Slowly I pry the picture from her hand, it was that of her and Josh Hudson, if I could kill that sumbitch right now, I would. Instead I sat next to her, placing my arm under her neck and lifting Tatum up to my chest, she didn’t wake and all I did was rock back and forth missin’ the love of my life….

 

Sundown: “God have mercy on their souls…..”

 

I couldn’t let her go, I just couldn’t but I had to.

 

Unknown Motel

New York City, NY.

A Few Hours Later

 

She came back outta the bathroom, already in her underwear. Dakota looked at me a bit funny before she smiled and went to grab cigarettes outta her purse. I stood up, grabbed my clothes, and headed to the wash room myself when she stopped me and smirked….

 

Dakota: “Well?”

Wendell: “Well, what?”

Dakota: “Nothin’ ain’t fer free darlin’.”

 

She was a whore…..

 

Wendell: “Right, of course.”

 

I dug into my pant pockets and took out a wad of cash, I didn’t know or care how much, I threw it at her. Closing the door behind me. Staring in the mirror as I was getting dressed, the life I threw out to become what? This? That is where I felt it, my hand reaching over to my face, holding it tightly before pulling it over my head. Reaching into my bag, I can feel the cold steel of Penance, the name I gave my hunter’s knife….

Slowly opening the door, Dakota had her back to me…..

 

Sundown: “But those who want to get rich fall into temptation and a snare, many foolish and harmful desires which plunge men into ruin and destruction….’

Dakota: “What the fuck!?”

 

She turned around, looked at me in complete horror. She tried to run but I grabbed her by the neck and pinned her against the wall, raising off her feet, kicking and screaming….

 

sundowncastpic-sundown1

 

Sundown: “For the love of money is a root of all sorts of evil, and some by longing for it have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs…..”

Dakota: “Don’t kill me!”

 

 

I raised my arm with the knife in hands….

 

Sundown: “For they who walk in the valley of the shadow of death, will fear no evil!”

 

Before I knew it, the knife lunged right at Dakota’s face. She squinted, her eyes slowly open seeing how I stabbed the wall inches from her cheek. She trembled, turn pale as the eyes rolled to the back of her head, fainting in fright. I held her limp body, just hanging there in my hand. Turning her head, seeing how she wasn’t worth killin’, instead shamed, livin’ her life knowin’ I had the power to be Judge….

Jury….

Executioner.

And from that moment forward I knew that my journey ended….

For I had become WRATH.

 

 

SCENE FADES

 

 

But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not carry out the desire of the flesh. For the flesh sets its desire against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; for these are in opposition to one another, so that you may not do the things that you please. But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the Law.

Galatians 5:16

 

 


 

 

 

REC:

 

sundowncastpic-sundown2“I have sat in the shadows, watchin’, waitin’, listenin’, to all the chatter, the moments created by those in succession in a world full of sin and atrocities many have become numb to. EMERGE is a proving ground, the bosom of the SCW to nurture and bring forth the future stars of tomorrow…

I am none of this.

There are paths taken, some cast in roles played, many including the sinners who felt the wrath of God in Sodom and Gomorrah acted to the tune of their own demise, not facing the truth, looking away at a mere vision, never testing their faith. Mitch Sanders, Alice Redding, Gwen Blair, Goddrick Grimm, Maxwell St. Claire, Kelsai Mason and Carson Caine are wanderers in a wasteland, deaf and blind, dumb and inept, looking for their place in EMERGE, this world. Some flamboyant starving for attention, a few trying to fight for the “Good” of others. The innocent, guilty…. Monsters, false prophets and finally?

Fools.

Do they have faith? Does Mitch Sanders believe in himself? No, he rather claim to make others “Look Good”. Maxwell pokes fun at what he doesn’t understand and instead should fear. Alice is in Wonderland, Kelsai is simply naïve. Gwen seems to be lost in her own transition. Grimm thinks he’s a “God” and Carson Caine is vain. This tournament is not one for victory or glory, for each of you that want to be the finalist must go through the Hell and back to get there. Winning, losing is all objective, there is a reason why Tombstone is in the SCW, EMERGE, the hounds of hell have come forward to hunt their prey. Like Abraham, who had to sacrifice his son for the will of God, those that cut their nose to spite their face, committing suicide through genocide, all in the name of what they believe in…..

And so, I ask….

What do you believe in?

Mitch Sanders, you are the first to cross and carve a path from which the end of the road leads to the unknown. People like to laugh, they find joy in comedy routines, I find it in pain and suffering. Mitch, your screams will be like a Symphony of Destruction coursin’ in my ears. Each bone I break, each organ I rupture, each piece of flesh I skin off your back will have a purpose. That is what I want you and those that come next to understand….

Each victim represents a cause.

You don’t have to believe in anythin’. There are those that when death is upon them, only darkness ensues. I have come here with resolve, a man who once had a life, a family and reason to live. Now I see the privileged, the self-entitled, those that look down at our kind with disgust and hatred, loathing my very existence but you see, I am more than just a Judge, Jury and Executioner….

I am your Salvation.

For he has empowered me through my disbelief and my angst. Through my sacrifices and loss. With my will and loyalty, I Have transformed into Wrath in EMERGE. Mitch Sanders will be the first lamb to slaughter, screamin’, yellin’ and beggin’ me for mercy. I will not stop and instead gaze upon the fallen, the weak who have succumbed to the despair, the doubt of my determination to bring justice with the hand of God as my weapon, thrust into the impure hearts of the masses who are the EMERGE roster.

Then?

Whether Atheists, skeptics, heathens and infidels will not matter, the end of Mitch Sanders before the beginning will tell the story of the chapters to come. It doesn’t matter who stands in my way, who wants to fight or run, only the penitent man or woman shall pass?

No, for not even the Carrion shall take your coin traveling down the River of Styx, Mitch Sanders and the rest of this “Impact” tournament field?

Behind every mask lies a face you can’t see….

For the Devil comes out when the Sun goes Down.”

 

/REC

 

 

Leave a comment